Skip to content

History of Galicia

Galicia is a Spanish autonomous community, located northwest of the Iberian peninsula and formed by the provinces of La Coruña, Lugo, Orense and Pontevedra. Geographically, bounded on the north by the Cantabrian Sea, southern Portugal, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and east of the Principality of Asturias and Castilla y Leon (provinces of Zamora and León).historia

Galicia has about 2.78 million inhabitants (2008), with a population distribution, Santiago de Compostela is the capital of Galicia with a special status within the province of La Coruna.

The anthem of Galicia, Os Pinos, produced by Eduardo Pondal, referred to as the nation of Galicia Breogán, Celtic hero. The Statute of Autonomy, in its first article defines as a national historical Galicia Xunta de Galicia

Xunta defined in the Statute of Autonomy, approved in 1981, as a body of the Government of Galicia. At present, the Xunta comprises the president, a vice president and twelve conselleiros. The community carries out its administrative functions through the Xunta and its subsidiary organs and bodies.

Xunta corresponds to approve the general regulations of their own taxes and developing regulatory standards required to manage their state tax agency in accordance with the terms of the transfer and the development and implementation of the budget of the Autonomous Community of Galicia, to be considered by Parliament.

Xunta also coordinates the activity of the Provincial Councils of its territory in what affects one directly from the general interest of Galicia, and for that link budgets prepared by them. It may entrust the execution of agreements with the above county, which will be responsible for carrying out the functions transferred by the Executive Autonomy.

The Community also has a unique set of skills, including those related to the organization of self-government institutions and the rural parishes and counties as entities own Galicia, land and coastal urban development and housing activities in relation to the institutions of civil law Galician, procedural rules and administrative procedures arising from the Galician specific law or the organization of government, public works, railways, roads and transport, ports and airports, forestry, water and relating to electricity, water and mineral springs, fishing in rivers and inland waters, fairs and markets, craft, cultural heritage, libraries, museums, conservatories of music and fine arts services, promotion of culture and research; promotion and teaching of the Galician language, tourism and sports, social welfare, creation of a Police Force; regime foundations; casinos, gambling and betting establishments, recruitment of goods and values, fishermen's associations and various chambers and standards Additional environmental protection.
Pazo Raxoi staircase from the front of the cathedral Obradoiro Compostela

Santiago Concello

The Presidency of the Galician regional government and the municipality of Santiago headquarters in the share of Raxoi Pazo, neoclassical building located in Plaza del Obradoiro. Administrative buildings in San Caetano and San Lazaro is currently hosting the various ministries.


Concello Santiago